Concours Cosplay Tuto Conseils Blog

Behind the scenes of cosplay contests

I often talk about cosplay contests with other cosplayers, cosplay judges or visitors during conventions. In this post, I talk about cosplay contests, steps that compose them (meeting point, prejudging, skits…), ratings, and yoou will also find some tips as well for contestants (or future contestants), than for judges or visitors !

recap 2017 Black Owl Studio Blog

Review 2017

2017 was a really busy year for us at Black Owl Studio. Many conventions, the Crown Championships of Cosplay finals, new costumes, and the development of our little business still… Good experiences, fails and new year’s projects, it’s all there ! A year full of conventions We went to a total of 19 conventions throughout […]

Tutorials

Thermoplastics : Worbla’s Finest Art, Black, Pearly, Meshed, Transpa Art, Cosplayflex…

Today we are testing for you : Worbla’s Finest Art, Cosplayflex, Worbla Black, Pearly, Meshed and Transpa Art ! Thermoplastics, as their name suggests, are plastic materials that react to heat. Rigid when at room temperature, they become malleable when heated, allowing to form armor pieces, props and other elements involved in the making of a cosplay.

Process

Black Knight: Making-of

«Crafting a full armor from the ground up in just one month ? Eaaaasy !» Among the three costumes we wanted to bring with us to Blizzcon in 2015, the Black Knight was the last one we made. One month before our departure to Los Angeles, the costume was barely started (a small piece of […]

Tutorials

Tutorial : Crafting fake teeth

In this tutorial we will see how to quickly make fake teeth in Worbla’s Deco art in just 3 steps.

Tutorials

Tutorial : Crafting articulated wings

Complete cosplay tutorial to craft articulated angel wings from wood and foam.

Blog

Process : Trophée des Power Gaming Series 2018

Chaque année, l’école Power House Gaming de Mulhouse organise un gros événement E-sport au Palais des Sports, les Power Gaming Series. Celui-ci sert d’examen de fin d’année aux élèves de l’école, qui doivent mettre sur pied une compétition spectaculaire mettant en compétition les meilleures équipes locales pour rafler un cashprize de plus de 7500€. L’école […]

Moniale Diablo Blizzard FoxDirector Photography Process

Moniale : Making-of

La Moniale de Diablo 3, un projet intéressant mais plus compliqué que ce à quoi on s’attendait au départ ! Parti pour être un «costume léger», ça a finalement été un sacré challenge… surtout en terme de couture.

Concours Cosplay Tuto Conseils Blog

Concours cosplay : l’envers du décor

J’ai souvent l’occasion de discuter des concours cosplay avec d’autres cosplayers, jurys ou visiteurs, lors des conventions. Dans cet article, je vous parle des concours cosplay, des étapes qui le composent (rendez-vous, pre-judging, prestation…), des notations, et vous pourrez également y trouver quelques conseils que ce soient pour les participants (ou futurs participants), les jurys et même les visiteurs !

recap 2017 Black Owl Studio Blog

Récap 2017

2017 aura été une année bien remplie pour Black Owl Studio, de nombreuses conventions, la finale des Crown Championships of Cosplay, de nouveaux costumes, et toujours le développement de notre petite entreprise… Bonnes expériences, échecs et projets pour 2018, c’est par ici ! Le plein de conventions Tout au long de l’année, nous avons été […]

Worbla tutoriel comparatif Tutoriels

Thermoplastiques : Worbla’s Finest Art, Black, Pearly, Meshed, Transpa Art, Cosplayflex…

Aujourd’hui on teste pour vous Worbla’s Finest Art, Cosplayflex, Worbla Black, Pearly, Meshed et Transpa Art ! Les thermoplastiques, comme leur nom l’indique, sont des matériaux plastiques qui réagissent à la chaleur. Rigides lorsqu’ils sont à température ambiante, ils deviennent malléables lorsqu’on les chauffe, permettant de réaliser armures, props et autres éléments entrant dans la fabrication d’un cosplay.

cosplay death knight Process

Chevalier noir : Making-of

«Fabriquer une armure complète en un mois ? Eaaaasy !» Parmi les 3 costumes que nous voulions emmener à la BlizzCon en 2015, le Chevalier Noir a été le dernier que nous avons réalisé. Un mois avant notre départ pour Los Angeles, le costume était à peine entamé (un petit bout de cotte de maille […]